Withlacoochee State Trail Safety Tips
Withlacoochee State Trail Safety & Guidelines
The following regulations apply to all users of the Withlacoochee State Trail. While not all of them are about biking on the Trail, we are including them all here so you know what you will see while riding the Trail and so you can be a better-informed citizen of the trail.
- The Trail is open sunrise to sunset every day of the year.
- Motorized vehicles are not allowed except for:
- Wheelchairs and scooters being used by mobility-impaired individuals.
- Electric-assist cycles that cannot exceed 20 mph in speed. If an electric-assist vehicle can exceed 20 mph, it cannot be used on the trail even when the user is not exceeding that speed limit.
- All plants, animals and park property are protected. The collection, destruction or disturbance of plants, animals or park property is prohibited.
- No littering. Period.
- Pets are permitted, but must be kept on a hand-held leash, no longer than six feet, and well-behaved at all times. Walk them along the edge of any shared-use trail. Note: Service animals are welcome in all areas of the parks. Aggressive pets are not permitted.
- Fireworks are prohibited in all Florida State Parks.
- Alcoholic beverages are not allowed on Florida State Trails.
- Florida State Trails are not set up for racing and should be used for recreational purposes only.
- Do not mark or write on the trail surface or any of the trail buildings, benches, kiosks, or shelters.
- Bicyclists and in-line skaters yield to other users; all trail users yield to equestrians.
- Obey all trail rules posted at trailheads.
- Stay to the right except when passing.
- Pass slower traffic on their left; yield to oncoming traffic when passing.
Florida's state parks are committed to providing equal access to all facilities and programs. Should you need assistance to enable your participation, please contact staff at any ranger station or call (850) 245-3076 (Voice) or 711 (Florida Relay Service).
Florida law requires bicyclists to obey the rules of the road the same as other vehicles – obey traffic signs. Stop at stop signs.
The state of Florida classifies electric bikes as “Electric Helper-Motor Bicycles.” Electric bikes must be a combination of human power and electric helper-motor and must not be able to exceed 20 mph. See our page on Florida Bike Laws for more information on electric-assist bicycles.
- Electric bikes do not need to be licensed or registered.
- Operators of electric bikes must be at least 16 years old.